Monday, December 13, 2010

Here we are!

Welcome to the latest and hottest in mystery writing blogs, the Crime Writers' Chronicle. On Wednesdays you'll hear from Annamaria Alfieri, on Fridays, Kate Gallison, on Sundays, Robert Knightly, and then on Mondays, Robin Hathaway. In between times there will be guests, comments, contests, low comedy and highbrow entertainment. Look in on us. It will be time well spent.

Who are we?

Robert Knightly retired from the NYPD as a Lieutenant in 1987, then worked for the next 18 years as a trial lawyer in the Manhattan and Queens Criminal Courts for the NYC Legal Aid Society. Born in Brookyn, he never lived outside NYC till moving to Albany in 2007. Now he practices law in the Criminal and Family Courts in Albany, Troy and Schenectady. He sold a TV pilot script, "The System," to Aaron Spelling-TV Productions and NBC. His short stories are included in the Akashic Books anthologies of original crime fiction: Brooklyn Noir, Manhattan Noir, Queens Noir (which he also edited), Brooklyn Noir 3: Nothing But the Truth, and Best American Mystery Stories 2007. His first novel, Bodies In Winter, was published by Severn House in 2009; a sequel, The Cold Room, is to be published by Severn in 2011. He is a past president of the NY Chapter of MWA, and past president of the Upstate NY Chapter of Sisters in Crime.

Robin Hathaway is the creator of the Doctor Fenimore and Doctor Jo Banks mystery series. In 1998, her first Doctor Fenimore book, The Doctor Digs a Grave, won the prestigious Agatha Award for best first novel. Sleight of Hand, a Doctor Jo Banks mystery, won Deadly Ink's David G. Sasher, Sr., award for best mystery published in 2008. Robin is now working on a stand-alone novel set at Cape May Point during WWII. This is a big leap for her and she hopes she won't fall on her face. Her husband, two daughters, their husbands, and her three grandchildren hope so, too. Luke, the eldest at 7, is working on his first novel. Unlike his grandmother, he's starting early.
Robin's web page address is

Annamaria Alfieri is the author of City of Silver, a historical mystery published by St. Martin’s Press to critical acclaim. Deadly Pleasures magazine called it one of the best first novels of the year, and the Washington Post said, “As both history and mystery, City of Silver glitters.”

Writing as Patricia King, she is also the author of the short story “Baggage Claim,” in the anthology Queens Noir, a volume of Akashic Books’ award-winning Noir series. Her five books on business subjects include Never Work for a Jerk, which was featured on the Oprah Winfrey Show, and the current Monster Boss. She lives in New York City.
See her web page at

Kate Gallison's writing credits include three private eye novels and five traditional mysteries, as well as a number of short stories. Under the name of Irene Fleming, she writes a series about silent movie production in the early twentieth century. The first of these, The Edge of Ruin, was published in April 2010. The sequel, The Brink of Fame, is due out in August of 2011. She lives in Lambertville, New Jersey, and is descended from a convicted Salem witch.
Her web site can be found at

No comments:

Post a Comment